Huan Zhu Ge Ge II – Episode 20 English sub (Princess Return Pearl II)

Some good revenge, and the jumpstart of the next arc. And a clip of Alec Su singing in his real, non-dubbed voice!!!!

In this episode, Qing Er flexes her poetry knowledge once again to swoop in and save our main character’s asses. In this watch through Qing Er is definitely my favorite character. I always love XYZ but she is definitely bratty at times. Qing Er is really the only levelheaded and mature person in this entire show.

At some point, Qing Er also says the Palace is missing some “human touch,” as in it’s a bit sterile and rigid. In Chinese, she’s saying “people feelings flavor,” like “the air of people’s emotions,” which she then breaks down into the three individual parts – people, feelings, and flavor. Later on, our main characters riff on that by saying that “life is deliciously flavorful and colorful.” It didn’t really work in English speech, so I sort of summarized more than direct translation. It definitely sounds more clever in Chinese though.

Episode 20 – Get it here!

When our team tackled HZGG I ten years ago, we really went for the approach of “capturing the language” as closely as possible. But I came across clips of our subs on YT a couple of years ago, and I found them hard to read. So this time, my approach is for the translated script to read well on its own, for the lines to be easily readable. Even if I have to paraphrase or eliminate some words, as long as it doesn’t ruin the meaning. The script is kind of an odd combination of colloquialisms and more formal sounding speech anyway, so I sort of give myself the same liberties in the translation (esp if XYZ is speaking).

I just want to be proud of these subs in ten years too ;( I’m super super proud of the other ones, but I’d definitely make some revisions if I still had the files…

No comments yet

Leave a comment